• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

DIY Chest Rigs with Integrated Hydration

LRRPF52

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 13, 2012
SLC, Utah
I've been making my own gear since the 1980s, always looking at new ways to solve a lot of the problems I had with the old LC-1, LCS-88 LBV, Land Warrior MOLLE 1 & 2, and started making my own MOLLE kit before it was generally issued.

A buddy of mine asked for a simple little Micro Rig for him and his kids when coyote hunting or just blasting with his CZ Scorpion.

Hydration pouch is insulated with 3 layers and has an internal emergency meal pouch made from Aviator's Day Glo Orange lightweight ripstop:

I just finished this one that is a split-front chest rig with the same integrated hydration, very comfortable to wear. These both have a smaller hydration pouch so the bladder doesn't get smashed by your rucksack kidney pad. The hydration really balances out the load so you don't get the typical webbing harness chest rig load on your front, with pressure on the back of the neck feeling like you have to lean forward.

Before sewing the lid on the Camelbak pouch. I put a hangar loop in it with snap fastener. The Camelbak pouches are semi-rigid since the foam insulation lies between the internal packcloth and the outer layers of Cordura or spacer mesh. You can QD the hydration pocket for ease of refill or convert it to a stand-alone pouch.

Looks great.

I do something very similar using an older LBT 6034.

I see we share the same taste in original gangster RAID mod DCU too.

Thanks for the complements.