• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Does anybody own a dual illumination RMR?

Mike_in_FL

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Feb 29, 2008
    Tampa Bay, FL
    If you do, is your reticle bright? I have no experience with this particular model but bought one recently. It is supposed to be the RM08 12.9 amber triangle reticle but is A) tiny and B) dim as shit. I never owned one but saw where people in the GWOT with the same dual illumination ACOGs had to put tape over the fiber optic as it was too bright I guess.

No such luck with mine. It's very weird, if not mounted on my slide I can tilt the front down and will see somewhat illuminated the reverse image of the "1 click MOA" legend printed by the elevation adjustment.

The worst part is I've already sent it back to Trijicon who basically said I'm a moron, stuck it in a different box and sent it right back. The reticle is only the size of the 6.5 moa dot in my battery powered RM07. With that optic, I can at least turn on my flashlight and not completely wash out the dot as long as I've turned it up a little more. This RM08, there's no way you could ever do that with this and see the reticle.

I'm debating on eating their 20% restocking fee just to get rid of this dud at this point.

I’ve got several (maybe 4) dual illum and some battery powered ones. I like the dual illum a lot especially with night vision. But they’re not nearly as bright as battery powered.

Over the years (10?) some seem to have gotten dimmer. Idk why. I sent one back to trijicon and it came back good as new and reasonably bright again.

Dual illum rmr blows is what the tactical forums told me years ago.