• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Does progressive and precision go together

pickpick

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2008
Jonesboro,Ar.
I have been reloading on my RCBS Turret press for a few years and I'm considering going to a dillon. I reload to a tenth of a grain using a chargemaster. It seems to stay as accurate as I can drive the firearm. I do shoot F/tr but, I shoot it against myself and I only get to make about three to five matches a year. The rest of the shooting is done out on the farm and, I'm only looking for MOA. I'm just needing to speed up my reloading process since I seem to have more range time than time at home to reload. Thanks for any help and opinions on the matter.

Re: Does progressive and precision go together

Lots of threads that get into a lot of detail on this topic, so if you want to know all the ins and outs and what-have-yous, please search around.

The short answer is yes, they go together just fine. I load my rifle ammo on a Dillon 650, and can achieve better than 1/2 MOA.

My method:

Station 1: Bushing/Bump die
Station 2: Sinclair expander/neck ID sizer
Station 3: Charge
Station 4: Seat
Station 5: Compartor final seating

I have a funnel that sits in the tool head, and when the ram is raised, the case engages the funnel and lifts it up. I use a scale to measure each charge.

Hope this helps.