• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Don't underestimate the impact of stress!

noahmercy

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 7, 2010
Sheridan, Wyoming
A little history on my struggles with fitness. I used to be a hardcore lifter and martial artist. When I graduated high school I had a 28 inch waist and a 56 inch chest. I measured 72 inches around my shoulders and had 30 inch thighs and 18 1/2 inch biceps. At 5'9" I weighed 195 pounds with 5% bodyfat and this was all natural. I was blessed with great genes and worked hard for what I had.

I remained in pretty good shape until I broke my back twice in a year when I was 24. I became totally sedentary, put on 50 pounds, and lost any semblance of muscle tone. Chronic pain and deep muscle spasms prevented me from lifting, and depression kept me from caring.

Over the years, I have continued to gain weight, regardless of my dietary habits or my level of activity. I plateued at 285 pounds (although thankfully my frame is big enough that almost nobody believes I even went 250) . For the last four years I have sat at that level of morbid obesity whether I ate 1000, 2000, 3000, or 6000 calories a day.
mad.gif
During this time, I was pretty stressed, between my job, my surroundings, and my declining health (arthritis in about half my joints, fibromyalgia, torn rotator cuff, etc.).

Eight weeks ago, I asked for a demotion at work so that I could move into a position with a fixed schedule and have time for my wife, mother, and hobbies. I've lost 20 pounds. I haven't changed my eating habits. I haven't exercised more. I have simply reduced my stress levels.