• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Dumb questions from a big idiot

shootstraight

Private
Minuteman
Nov 27, 2022
Earf
I've been shooting for over 30 years but mostly just for fun and the occasional deer hunt, but recently decided longer range precision shooting might be fun. I'm probably wrong and I will probably spend a bunch of money on it, not be good at it from the get-go, and then, like the impetuous child I am, give up on it too quickly and move on to some other temporary obsession.

So I have this action I figured I'd use. It's a Remington 700UML (NOTE: for those unaware, this is not the 700ML muzzle loader, which is a different beast altogether, this is the "Ultimate" ML, which I am told is essentially a Rem 700 short action receiver without the cut in the bottom to accept rifle cartridges from a box magazine. I initially picked this up with the goofy goal of assembling a smokeless muzzleloader but I think I'd rather go another way with it. Maybe without that cut in the bottom, it's a little stiffer which might help in the precsion department? Or maybe I don't know what the h-e-double-hockey-sticks I'm talking about? Probably the latter...)

Since I'm not a gunsmith and always looking to take the easy way out, I figured I'd try one of the Rem-age style barrels, which have the Savage-style locking nut which apparently makes it easier to headspace.

Anyway, as you know, all decisions are best made under pressure and without research. So I'm looking at this Black Friday sale from x-caliber and thinking of placing an order for a barrel before the sale is over, but there's a crap-ton of options on the barrel that I don't know how to answer, and some I'd never considered or even heard of before.