• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Durable do-all .308 semi auto - which one to get?

762libertarian

Private
Minuteman
Feb 24, 2012
I'm a novice when it comes to modern semi auto rifles. Please bear with me.

I've an old m1a that I use for hog hunting at night. It's kind of a handful to access the buttons on the digital nv scope while standing up on my feet. I imagine a modern layout with a pistol grip, a shorter overall length and perhaps slightly lower weight would help. Especially since I'm looking to get a suppressor on the rifle.

All in all I'm looking to get a new semi auto .308 (or 6,5 creedmoor - doesn't really matter) for hunting, but I'm not really finding a rifle that I feel fit my needs.

I'm in Europe, which means it's an absolute horror show to send rifles back and forth to the US for warranty repairs. The gun must run.

- warranty is no substitute for durability
- must have an 18" barrel or longer (legal)
- must be under 8,5 lbs
- must have 2 MOA accuracy with quality ammo
- must have a good solid way to mount optics, preferrably picatinny
- must be suppressor compatible
- ergonomics: must have an easy to operate safety, ambi is tolerated but not preferred.

What options do I have?

-If the SFAR would have a great reputation and track record, it would win.

-A SCAR 17s would fit the bill perfectly with a replacement 18" barrel, but the barrel alone is as much as most of the competing options.