• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing EGW Base on a Remington 700 SPS Tactical

rickcis

Private
Minuteman
Jan 23, 2009
Hi Folks. I need some opinions.

First of all I am a newbie... real new.. My 15 MOA base just came in tonight and I used the screws that came with it. The last factory screw (nearest the end of the barrel) came out very tough. All the EGW screws went in OK with the last being very tough. I went to pull the bolt back after tightening and the bolt would not move. I started loosening all the scews and when I loosened screw #3 and the bolt became free. I backed that one out, put loctite on all four and tightened the remaining three.

Guys, do I have something to worry about here???

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Rick

Re: EGW Base on a Remington 700 SPS Tactical

sure you got the right height screws in the right places?

i mixed screws on the first base i installed and would up in the same boat.

Your bolt prolly has a little circle mark on it now.
smile.gif

Little screws at the barrel end, taller at the trigger end.

On the canted bases there is probably two diff length screws, long for rear and short for front. Pull them all and check them. I also did it on my first install. Let us know.

Mike

+ 1 on everyone's answer I did it the first time around you said you used loctite on the screws I was told to make sure I only use blue loctite on them is just passing that along to

correct me if I am wrong on the loctite guy's