• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Eld suddenly not grouping?

moosemeat

30Hate club founding member
Minuteman
Jun 21, 2009
Barren plains of Kansas
Long story short I've been shooting 178 ELD M for a couple years. Had a load worked out. Switched to Lapua brass(it's a 308 by the way) and redid load work up. Groups went to crap. Went from half MOA to 1.5 to 2. Redid load workup with once fired brass and still crap. No other changes. FGMM still shoots half MOA. Only other thing is I opened a new box of bullets. Any ideas?

Starts with simple things, things that don’t cost money. check and torque everything. Base, Rings, scope, action.
Then move on to the round... any lot changes with primers? Powder?
What dies are you using? FL size ?
Shoulders on lapua brass same as previous brass?

So FWIW, I had a similar issue with Hornady AMaxs in 6.5mm a few years ago when they switched from AMax to ELD and it was super hard to locate 140s ELDs.

Basically, first two lots of 200 each shot GREAT (1/2MOA) then I ran out and opened new lot (3rd batch in this gun). Groups opened from 1/2moa to 1.25moa avg for 3rd lot. Spent 180 bullets trying to chase my tail with seating depth, powder charge, brass, neck tension, cleaning rifle thoroughly, primers...you name it.

Called Hornady and was able to get a tech to provide the testing group size for the first two lots (.4" @ 200yds) and for the crap lot (.9" @ 200). Basically, I saw the exact same change in my rifle as they did in their test barrel in a wind tunnel.

They still passed QC but during the shortage it seemed like they made the decision to allow a few "extra" bullets through to keep up with demand. Bottom line: if nothing has changed but the lot of the bullet....it's probably the bullet.