• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

ELR Cartridge

TheHolyMountain

Private
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2020
NC
So, I have moved back west and have the ability to go to ranges with 1000 yards easily, with a bit of effort a 1 mile spot. I have a 6.5 Creedmoor from Alamo that is great but I am pondering an ELR cartridge. I am new to long range shooting in general (not shooting overall) so I have a bit of information overload at the moment. I first started toying with this hobby when the Ruger Precision and 6.5 were just coming out, everyone of course thought 6.5 would be a fad....well, that has proven to not be the case. Which now has me questioning newer "fad" cartridges for ELR. I also figured I could get a caliber that could double as an elk hunting round should I decide to go down that tunnel. I also would like to stay away from a cartridge that would be banned at my local range - .50, 338 Lapua etc. So, I have been pondering the 300 PRC, 7mm PRC, 300 Norma. I suppose, knowing myself, I could easily get into reloading too, which seems opens up a whole array of options. I know this is a vague and broad question(s) so I am just looking for some insight and direction, help maybe seeing some pitfalls etc. that a newbie may not know. Thanks guys!

.300 Norma Magnum is going to be the easy button for 1 mile shots
.300 PRC and 7/300 PRC would also work nicely for 1 mile shots

If you are going to be just doing 1000 yards, then 6.5CM is a pretty nice all around option, no need to go further for target shooting at 1000 yards.