• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Entry stock options

Bridges90

Private
Minuteman
Dec 29, 2017
Ashland, KY
Hey, looking to upgrade my Remington 700 5R from its magpul Hunter stock to something of higher quality with a better bedding. I’m new to long range shooting and am wanting a stock that is more centered toward bench rest shooting. Really not wanting to spend 1k on a new stock. What are some options out there? How are McMillan stocks? They look good and the price is right but they say they are pillar bedded. Price seems too good to be true too. Lemme know what are your guys favorite stocks that aren’t outrageously priced. I’m not a competition shooter and do this purely for the fun and the joys of learning about long range shooting. Thanks

McMillan are some of the best available along w Manners as far as more conventional stocks go.

Might check out KRG Bravo and MDT Oryx as entry level chassis options: Rigid, rugged, bedding block, adjustable.

Reactions: Bridges90
Gotta be a stock or might you like a chassis? Lot's of chassis options for Remington 700 series - I'm a whore for MDT Chassis myself.

Stocks are awesome if that's what one prefers but a chassis allows one to swap out butt stocks, rails, and all kinds of stuff without modification, drilling holes and balancing the rifle with a chassis just means bolting on weight kits.

VooDoo

The mcmillans are not pillar bedded. You can order them with pillars, and either bed it yourself, or have someone do it, which of course adds cost.

Gotta be a stock or might you like a chassis? Lot's of chassis options for Remington 700 series - I'm a whore for MDT Chassis myself.