• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

establishing a new turret "0", for a new cartridge

.308winguy

Private
Minuteman
Mar 30, 2021
Sacramento
I'm relatively new to long-range shooting. I have what is probably a basic question:

So, I have my dope for a particular round and have adjusted my turret to zero at 100 yds.

If I want to chrono, zero etc. a new round (different weight, powder load) do I include on my dope card (for my first round) include how many mils up from the bottom of the reticle be included as the starting point? I've never seen this addressed. In other words, how to you get back to the turret zero for previous outings? I hope this makes sense.
Thanks in advance!

When you say "have adjusted my turret to zero at 100y" do you mean that you sighted the scope in with a particular cartridge for 100 yards so that the center of the crosshair point of aim (POA) is aligned with your point of impact (POI)?

Let's say the cartridge you zero'd is a 6.5 Creedmoor with a Barnes 127 solid, but now you bought a bunch of Hornady Match 147 ELD-M rounds and using your same zero you notice that the POI of the Hornady 147 is 0.2 mils low at 100 yards. Well, you can either re-zero your scope (can be a pain on some models) or you can adjust your solution by 0.2 mils regardless of distance. I keep track of these differences on all my load development (LD) sheets so I can adjust accordingly depending on which cartridge I'm shooting with.

Not sure if I understood your question correctly but hopefully this helps.

Reactions: R_A_W and Baron23