• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Exit Pupil & Eyebox: Very Crude and Preliminary Hypothesis (Refinement needed)

45custom

Private
Minuteman
Jan 30, 2020
Disclaimer: I am not an optical engineer and am not remotely an expert on this subject. I simply waste too much time thinking about it. If you are more informed on the topic, feel free to provide your own insight on the mechanics of eyebox. As it stands, I think there are too many inconsistencies for my speculation to really be quite correct, but it might be a starting point.

In addition, this conjecture revolves primary around low power scopes. I'm not certain if higher power optics could be affected differently by this proposed dynamic.

Most of this is simply copied and pasted from ARFCOM.

Perhaps the most commonly referenced stat in relation to eyebox size is exit pupil. This is basically a point where the rays of the "cone of light" emitting from the optic come together at the technical eye relief point. Here's an illustration of it:

1920px-Exit_Pupil_raytrace.svg.png

The width of that disc is the exit pupil diameter. As the popular conception goes, this circle must overlap with the pupil of your own eye in order to see an image. Larger exit pupil = Larger eye box, and more area to move your head side to side without losing FoV completely.