• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Expander Mandrels & Primers

357Max

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Sep 11, 2019
    Marylandistan
    Now maybe this is common knowledge, but I'm mostly self taught & I've never seen it discussed.

Recently I was loading 400 rounds of 6.5 Creedmoor.
    In my reloading process typically the last steps are to lube the neck with graphite, mandrel, powder, & seat the bullet. On this batch of 1 x Lapua I noticed the mandrel was pretty tight. These were annealed the same as all previous so I thought it odd, then a light bulb went off. Looking at the inside of the mandreled neck I could see that the mandrel had a very concentric fit. So well in fact I suspected it was air compression that made it feel tighter. These were primed with a CPS and all primers were .0055 below flush to start. Sure as shit I started measuring after mandrel and the primers were now .004 - .0045. Luckily I wasn't stroking the press fast and just stayed consistent so all primers were in the range stated above after.

Note to self: Mandrel before priming. Anyone else see this?
    A drilled or EDM'd hole through the mandrels plus a hole in the die cap would ensure this couldn't happen.

Last edited:
    Woa, now hold on there are you saying that you are moving/pushing the primer out by the air pressure
    increase when you expand the neck using a mandrel?

No way unless you have bad primer pockets.

Reactions: 918v and Anb618
    Woa, now hold on there are you saying that you are moving/pushing the primer out by the air pressure
    increase when you expand the neck using a mandrel?

No way unless you have bad primer pockets.
    Yes that's what I'm saying.