• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

factory X custom

Erthal

Private
Minuteman
Jan 1, 2005
Brasil
Hi guys, I have a question to ask about one caliber on wich I have little knowledge.
You can build a custom gun with good components(BAT action, Krieger barrel, McMillam stock, etc...) and expect to shoot better than a factory rifle recognized as of excellent quality and perfomance? (Sako TRG 42)

Re: factory X custom

Something wrong with my question?

Feel free to send a private message if we feel unconfortable to answer in the public forum.

TIA

Erthal

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Erthal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Hi guys, I have a question to ask about one caliber on wich I have little knowledge.
You can build a custom gun with good components(BAT action, Krieger barrel, McMillam stock, etc...) and expect to shoot better than a factory rifle recognized as of excellent quality and perfomance? (Sako TRG 42) </div></div>

Um, well, I guess we need to know what the actual question is because it's not clear?

If I understand your question, basically you are asking if a custom build will be mechanically more "accurate" than a premium quality factory rifle?

AS A GENERAL RULE (to which there may be many exceptions) the answer would be yes.

On a custom build, the various operations and areas for variations in tolerances and clearances that would have a negative affect on accuracy can be more tightly controlled than on a factory production line.

As it is phrased though, your question states (more or less), "you can build a custom gun..., and expect to shoot better than a factory rifle...?" That all depends on the shooter.