• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Failure to fire

Chiller

Minuteman
  • Dec 18, 2008
    Sole resident of Mt. Crumpit.
    Just finished the comp in AZ of the past weekend. As with all of these they are a learning experience and as such I am still learning. Unfortunately during one of the highest point total stages I had multiple “failure to fire”. They appear to have solid primer strikes and after the fact I went through that specific box of ammo and checked if I had seated the primers deep enough (none would budge or seat deeper).

History of the brass. They were originally loaded and fired “factory” ammo. They were all cleaned trimmed, and primed. They were randomly pulled from approximately 800 pieces of brass that had all gone through the same process.

They were stored and transported in a MTM Case Guard. The comp had a significant amount of rain and this ammo did become damp but by no means was it significantly “wet”.

Would like to hear others thoughts on what might have happened and more importantly how to prevent it from happening in the future.

Pulled ten bullets apart with what appears to be solid primer strikes.

2q0ujip.jpg

dgjloi.jpg

4lrog0.jpg

30rqo7n.jpg

549miq.jpg

The powder did not appear to be “clumping” in any manner

Re: Failure to fire

Whose primers???

What is the red stuff on the primer anvil??

Contact the primer Mfg. Looks like you have a bad batch of primers.

You might pull the anvil on one and remove the fiber cover and see if there is any primer mixture in the cup?

1000, I've seen tons of primers with red or green anvils like those. Don't think the color is an issue.

I do however agree that he may have a bad batch of primers. They look well struck.