• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Finally took the M1A to long(er-ish) range

bricktop

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 10, 2011
State College, PA
[crossposted at M14TFL]

Took it to long range (finally) this weekend. Shot targets at 425 and 550 yards (according to google maps). I am a novice to long range shooting, but hoping to learn fast. The college-student budget has been a bit of a hamper to doing what I want.

Anyway, I've worked up a load at 100 yards that seemed to be working well. Groups were converging as I increased from 41.5 to 42.0 to 42.5 grains of H4895 behind a Sierra 168 SMK with a Wolf primer (non-magnum). There weren't any serious pressure signs with those loads so I bumped it to 43.0 grains and made a batch of 20 to try out. I used the first ten to get a chrono reading and zero my rifle. The following are two five-round groups (center bull is first group, second group is after scope adjustment - I then left the zero there). The second pic is the chrono data. I was going to just shoot five for a chrono figure and leave 15 for long range shooting, but the SD looked too low to be believable, so I shot another five.

IMG00088-20110425-0916.jpg

IMG00094-20110425-0918.jpg

Here is the group at 425 yards. All fit in a 3.75" diameter circle. No sighters, just adjusted 2.3 mils for elevation and no windage as per the G7 ballistics program. Conditions were poor, it was raining that day - I really couldn't be happier with the results. Can I assume that the ~2" right shift is due to spin drift? There wasn't much wind. Scope is a 3-10x Mildot Weaver Tactical Grand Slam. My dad had just got a Bushnell 20-60x80mm Legend HD spotting scope and we could very nicely see the holes in the target, even with the rain and haze.