• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Fire cracking across lands?

Alec Cochran

Private
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2022
Texas
Newbie here. Tikka factory barrel, 6.5 CM, roughly 2000 rounds (I lost count). I started getting fliers after my normal cleaning routine (about every 150 rounds clean with BoreTech Eliminator patches and nylon brush. Alternate until clean patches. Clean neck with one size over bronze brush and eliminator and patch dry). On my last trip out, I also started seeing pressure signs and heavy bolt lift from factory ammo. I was curious if I had a carbon ring problem that had been slowly accumulating on me, so I bought a borescope and decided to check it out before and after cleaning. I didn't find a carbon ring, just very faint carbon build up that cleaned up easily with my normal routine.

However, I did notice these cracks that run across the lands at about 45* to the rifling. There were a handful of them within the first 3-4" of barrel. Are the cracks that run straight continuously across the lands and grooves normal? Is something in the cleaning routine potentially causing them?

Photo on 4-2-23 at 8.06 PM.JPG

Photo on 4-2-23 at 7.33 PM #2.JPG

Last edited:
thankfully the barrels are the replaceable part of the gun just expensive .

Reactions: lash
It would be bummer at 2000 rounds for it to be shot out already, but its possible. I have seen much worse fire cracking in barrels that still shoot. Have you run it down well to make sure there is not another cause for the fliers?

It would be bummer at 2000 rounds for it to be shot out already, but its possible. I have seen much worse fire cracking in barrels that still shoot. Have you run it down well to make sure there is not another cause for the fliers?