• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First Bolt Action Rifle Purchase Advice

tggman

Private
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2021
Illinois
Looking to purchase my first bolt action rifle for the range and would like your thoughts on Browning's X-Bolt Max Long Range.

I'm a lefty and plan to use it at the range only.

Thanks in advance!

Tikka T3x TAC A1 ... in 6.5 Creedmoor. I believe they make a lefty version. It's my most accurate rifle ... and I have some VERY nice rifles.

Reactions: diverdon
Thanks all for the feedback.
My son also recommended the Tikka T3x and as a result it was #2 on my list. As an engineer, I preferred the design and feature set of x-bolt over the Tikka T3x and was willing to spend "a bit" extra ... but I don't want to throw away money either. Can you folks explain why one might be better then the other - and for that matter - what design features are most important for a (bolt action rifle) novice like myself?

For around the same price, I'd look at Tikka and Bergara before that Browning

Just for the options with after market

My son also recommended the Tikka T3x and as a result it was #2 on my list. As an engineer, I preferred the design and feature set of x-bolt over the Tikka T3x and was willing to spend "a bit" extra ... but I don't want to throw away money either. Can you folks explain why one might be better then the other - and for that matter - what design features are most important for a (bolt action rifle) novice like myself?