• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First Bolt Gun (budget build)

TxAggie

Private
Minuteman
Mar 21, 2009
College Station, Tx
was just killing time at a local gun show, when I picked up a Rem .308 sps-tactical for $500. I thought is was a good price and had been really wanting a gun that could reach out to 500 yards or better (but I'm a poor college student).

SPS-T .308
NCstar scope
crappy base and rings
Gunstart.jpg

Next weekend I went out and squeezed the trigger a few times in about a 25-30 MPH wind. I managed about 1.5-2 inch groups at 100 yards, but quickly discovered truly how junky these scopes were.

Next weekend had better condition and more time, so I built a target stand and shot off the back of my truck. I managed one 1 in group and another 1.5 inch group both at 100 yards. After shooting those groups I was attempting to shoot the wood screws and the scope broke... and I mean you cant see through it anymore broke.
targetstand.jpg

firstgroups.jpg

I now have A Bushnell 4200, EGW 20moa base, and burris medium Xtreme rings on the way. This was all shipped for less than 650 (cant remember exact price) So no the total price is 1150.

I have two major dislike about my gun; the trigger has got to be the worst of all my rifles, and the stock seems way to weak and uncomfortable. The stock will probably be replaced by either a B&C light tactical or HS take off. I am still unsure about the trigger, but my goal is to have a decent shooter under 1500.

any in-sight or help would be appreciated.

Re: First Bolt Gun (budget build)

a rifle basix trigger can be had for about 125 bucks and that will solve that problem.

Takeoff stocks are about 200 bucks or so.

Those will put you right at 1500.