• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First Build Feedback

PotbellyVandal

Private
Minuteman
Feb 3, 2024
Pacific NW
New to the bolt gun world and have been doing a lot of research here on the forums and other sources online. I have decided to build an NRL Hunter open heavy legal rifle with a max weight of 16 lb. If I have done my math correctly and the manufacturer listed weights are correct I should be just a tick under the magic 16lb number and theoretically even able to add a few pounds via weights to help if I decide to run it in PRS as well.

Since I am new to this I welcome any feedback on my current build list -
Caliber will be 6.5PRC
Lone Peak Fuzion SA Alpine Cut (ordered and should be here within a couple of weeks)
Bartlein Carbon Fiber Barrel 24" (ordered and received)
Manners MCS-PRS-TCS
Seekins Scope Rings
MDT Send-It Level
Bix'n Andy TacSport X, Two-Stage w/ Gator shoe
TBAC Magnus SS RR Suppressor (others in consideration but this is top choice at the moment)
Steiner T6Xi 5-30X56
Atlas BT47-NC PSR Bipod
419 Arca Mount for bipod

Anything standout as something I should research more or consider a different component?

Reactions: MarshallDodge
That was definitely a consideration. I thought about going with a medium action for it but that limited my chassis/stock options. I should be fine with it in theory as I don't plan to run anything heavier than a 147 projectile and using factory ammunition to start before I begin reloading.