• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First handloads and Range Report, Rem. 700 LTR

spamassassian

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2012
New Mexico, USA
I am still new to precision shooting and have tons to learn... so thanks for all the great info on this site!

I purchased this rifle used last fall and have been learning to shoot it in the past months. I also got my dad to haul out his old reloading equipment that hadn't been used since the mid-'70s as far as I know. He recently had bought a new set of RCBS .308 dies for me, since he doesn't have anything chambered for .308. We got set up a few weeks ago and did some reloading of the Federal brass I had shot (I've only shot the GMM 168 BTHP factory stuff through the LTR thus far).

After doing some reading here and elsewhere about people's attempts to duplicate the Federal loads, I opted for RL15 powder. Varying opinions pointed to mostly a 42.0 grain load, but some people also suggested as much as 42.8 grains.

We ended up loading 60 rounds, 15 each at 42.0, 42.2, 42.4 and 42.6 grains. My goal was to shoot 3 five-round groups of each load, including the FGMM and see which came the closest to the factory loads.

I went out last Sunday and.... it was quite a bit of work and took some time to shoot 75 rounds through the LTR. I shot only five rounds at a time (slowly) then waited for the next relay at the range. This way, I thought, the barrel would cool down to close to ambient temp. It ended up taking from 9am to 3pm for this process to be complete. Had some good conversations with guys who came & went while I was patiently doing my shooting.