• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

First long range gun; Remington 700 build

UCChris

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jun 9, 2014
Utah, USA
Hi all! I am brand new here. I started shooting at 8 years old and have loved it ever since. Recently, I got into precision shooting. The never-ending quest for 5 shots in one hole at a good distance really gets my adrenaline pumping. Anyway, I love shooting my bolt action .22lr at 300 yards and since I have enough room I want to build a .308 rifle to shoot at really long distances. Here are my thoughts

Remington 700 VTR
Bell & Carlson M40 Medalist Stock
Harris S-BRM 6"-9" Bipod
Timney #510 Trigger Kit
Wyatt's Outdoors Detachable Magazine Kit
Hawke Endurance 30 SF 6-24x50 .308 reticle

That is all I have planned right now. I think this might take some minor smithing. Although I think the trigger kit is drop in and the detachable mag kit should drop into the B&C stock without modification.

I doubt many of you are familiar with that Hawke scope. Here is some more information. Hawke Optics | Hawke Endurance 30 SF 6-24x50 223/308 Marksman

I have one of their scopes with this same reticle (except it only goes to 200 yards) made to a .22lr round. Works like a charm!

Anyway, just looking for thoughts and opinions since I am brand new to this. My goal is to make pie plates easy to hit at 700 yards when I do my part.

Lively bunch here... ;)

Anybody know of a rail and ring system that will put a 30mm tube scope as close to 3" above the bore as possible?