• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First Long Range Rifle suggestions

Bob Fangou

Private
Minuteman
Mar 22, 2010
So. CA
Hello everyone,

Been reading this forum along time and gleaning all the info I can off of it. It is time to start my own thread asking specifically for advise of the knowledge base of this forum.

I am seriously debating a long range (1000 yd is the goal) AR platform rifle for fun, really no other reason. One I like to do the builds and two I like to shoot, I have no intention on competition shooting with rifle. I am not a novice reloader however I am fairly new, a couple years and still have a lot of learning to do. I know I have the capability to learn what is necessary to reload the ammo just dont have the knowledge currently on how to form one cartridge from another cartridge.

I want to stay in the AR platform, I would prefer 15 over 10 but either works. I need advice guys, why one over the other, etc.

I plan on starting to take some courses on long range shooting in the near future so I can learn properly. I am lost, Ive been reading and reading on the net about the various 6.5's and 6mm. Of course I want something that isnt gonna burn out a barrel super fast, that I can get reloading equipment for and will have the ability to make my brass. The creedmoor and 260 Rem. have peaked some interest as well as the 6.5BR and BRx but I need experienced individuals advice here.

Re: First Long Range Rifle suggestions

The Creedmoor and 260 are AR10 platform
I am using 6.5 grendel and quite happy with it, have got out to 975 yards so far, I will deer hunt with it as well this year

This rifle will more than likely only be used for range work. I have a 6.8x43 for deer, coyote and pigs that I enjoy shooting very much.