• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First on scene at a plane crash yesterday...

Apache

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 6, 2008
Chico, CA
So I saw something yesterday that I had never seen before.

I'm finishing up my degree at Chico State here in California, it's my fifth year here and after taking a year off last semester I will be done at the end of this one.

I work part time as a chef/server at a local Italian restaurant and we cater weddings and events on occasion.

Yesterday while setting up a wedding next to small man made lake, a four seater sea plane took off. The five of us that were there setting up watched it ascend, marveling at just "how awesome" it was. I turn my head to pick up a box and hear the engine cut out, flip my head around see it plummet about 150 feet to the ground nose first in an orchard.

Adrenaline mode enabled. Scream to my boss to get 911 on the phone, my coworkers come out from the house and I yell at my server to get in his truck, I hop in the bed, along with another server who is a registered EMT proceeded to tell him to "FUCKING GO, WE'LL HOLD ON!"

Smoke started to rise as we bounced along the unpaved field at nearly 50 mph. I see the wreck, look to my coworker and say, "just get ready, I have a feeling this is going to be bad, we're going to be pulling a body from this."

Somehow, after hitting a power line on the way down, the pilot had set it down in a miraculous spot, missing most of the trees, he and his son had gotten out and were staggering away.

Our server/EMT went to work, I ripped my shirt for a makeshift bandage, and we made sure no one else was in the plane and started to tend to their wounds, which were minimal to say the least.