• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First time doing load development, looking for advice and opinions

jsel10

Private
Minuteman
Jun 5, 2014
First off, some needed info
Rifle: Sako A7 roughtech range 6.5 creedmoor
Range: 100 yards
Brass: New Hornady
Primer: CCI BR2
Bullet: Barnes 140 match burner
Powders: RL 17, IMR4451
Position: Prone with a bipod and rear bag

So as stated in the title, this is my first time doing load development for a rifle. My experience with reloading has been mainly pistol.
That being said. Some things that I noticed that struck me as being strange. My velocities seem very low. At max charge based off the Hornady manual I'm a full 100fps slower with a 26" barrel vs the 24" barrel used in there testing.
The next thing that I noticed was that the powders used performed in the exact opposite fashion of each other. RL17 got progressively worse with an increase in charge weight, whereas IMR4451 got progressively better. I was thinking it was possibly shooters fatigue that was causing the groups to open up. But it seems to consistent. I ran the entire string of RL17 first followed by the entire string of 4451. Should I have jumped back and forth between the 2? The best groups came from the 2 lowest charges of RL17, the velocity just seems way low. There were no pressure signs with any loads.Looking for advice on where to go from here? Possibly continue bumping the charge in .2 increments until I see pressure signs and maybe use a lead sled off a bench to eliminate as much human error as possible?
20180421_171327.jpg

First, jumping back and forth between different powders will confuse the carbon fouling component of the velocity result; so don't do that.

I am totally unfamiliar with the propellants in use.