• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First time headspacing Rem 700 - .260 build in progress - Pic Heavy

ringer706

For Sale Access
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2012
TX
Just like the title says, this is my first attempt at properly headspacing a Rem700 action for a home build I'm doing. However, this isn't a typical pre-threaded, short chambered barrel. I'm using an AAC .260rem barrel that I got for a steal instead. They were selling around the $400 mark, but I got one from Midway once they went on clearance. Anyways, this one is just slightly long chambered with so it will require grinding of the recoil lug to get in dimension. Here's how I did it. Tell me what you think.

Here's my pile 'o goodies so far. I'll be using a virgin Rem700 SA with a .308 bolt head for this guy. Barrel - like mentioned above - is a 24" .260rem barrel from AAC. It's got a nice straight taper and comes nitrided. Out at the end, I'll be using a JP Recoil Eliminator on the end for when the GF comes out shooting. Rings are a Nightforce 20MOA direct mount, though glass is undecided at this point. Same goes for stock (thinking Manners T4A with BDL or AICS 1.5) Finally, everything will get a nice coat of Burnt Bronze Cerakote
IMG_0141_zps729b62f1.jpg

Anyways, the meat-n-taters of this thread. Here's my setup. I'll be using gage blocks with the headspace gages to determine my headspace butter zone.
IMG_0158_zpsa94c0b94.jpg

First thing's first, I used my round stone and lightly went over the face of the action to knock off any burrs. I visually inspected the barrel shoulder, found a small nick and gently filed it off.
IMG_0165_zps56fad8be.jpg

Install the barrel, leaving the chamber long.
IMG_0166_zps299e0192.jpg

In goes the NOGO...
IMG_0167_zpsf33e22a5.jpg