• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First time home buyer

lightsareout

Private
Minuteman
May 12, 2011
Clarksville, TN
My wife and I are looking at buying our first home. Anyone have any advice to a first time home buyer? We are looking at a FHA loan due to the low percentage down.

Re: First time home buyer

Fixed rate mortgage. No adjustable rate or interest only crap. That got a lot of people in trouble to begin with.

Josh

Buy something you cannot afford then squat as long as you can. Then walk away and do it again.

Oh, wait that's not right.

Shop for a floorplan everything else can be changed easy. Floorplans can be changed too, but usually its a little more.

I'm a Realtor with RE/MAX here in Utah. The first thing you need to do is find a good mortgage person, if you don't know one then talk to a Realtor in your area that has a good relationship with honest hard working lenders. When choosing a lender, find one that does this full time and that knows the ins and outs of their profession. I prefer not to go with banks mortgage officers because they are usually on salary. Mortgage companies work on commissions so they will work harder for you to make sure that the deal gets done and done in a timely manner. Choosing the wrong lender could end up costing you money. Realtors don't make anything by referring lenders to buyers. Once you have found a lender, have them run your credit and give you a good faith estimate on what the loan is going to cost, this will also give you an ideal of what you can afford, monthly payments ect..... By having started this process with a lender it will give you leverage when you find a home that you like and want to make an offer on and it will save you a lot of time. If you look at homes that are bei