• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

First time shooting past 200 yards and in any real wind. Why so low at 300 yards?

Mike Islander

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 5, 2019
Here in SC my shots on deer have all been under 200 yards. All my practice has been at our little sheltered 100 yard range in the woods. Since we do have some more open country at my hunt club, I wanted to stretch out to 300 and then eventually 400 yards. Easy shot for some, but I am a complete rookie at anything 200+.

I am shooting with a fixed 6X scope (SWFA 6x42 mil quad). I sighted in my rifle at 1.5" high at 100 yards a while back (for PBR or some other reason), so I just left it at that and entered that in Strelok. Fed the data for 140gn Berger Hybrid into Strelok and shot at 200 and 300 yards, four rounds each. My results are in the photo below. Notice that 200 worked pretty well according to the dialing recommendation of Strelok. 300 was consistently low. I did have my parallax set to 100 yards or so, which I didn't notice until afterward. But I don't think parallax would introduce that much difference between 200 and 300 yards.

My gun is a Barrett Fieldcraft 6.5CM with 21" barrel. I set the velocity lower than spec, using 115 fps loss for 5" barrel length reduction. So I reduced velocity in Strelok from 2850 to 2735. Still hit lower than expected at 300 yards.

Wind: Wind was variable from 45 degrees. When I measured it from the right (90 degrees), it ranged from 3-5 mph. Actually that might be the whole problem. I entered 90 degrees at 3-5 in Strelok, ignoring the headwind part.