• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

FL Sizing Questions

nick_f7.3

Private
Minuteman
Apr 10, 2023
Central PA
Morning all,

I'll preface this post by saying that I'm new to reloading. I've searched the forum for answers to my questions but came up empty, so my apologies if these have already been answered.

Long story short, I'm have some troubles getting my FL sizing die set up correctly. I'm using a SAC FL die for 6mm creed with a .266 neck/shoulder bushing and one of their .2405 medium expander/decapping mandrels. I just can't seem to get a consistent shoulder bump of .002" on my once fired Hornady brass. I have cleaned it with SS media, annealed it with an AMP annealer and lubed it up using Hornady OneShot. I've been measuring every case I put through the sizing die, and most come out to between 0.001"-0.003" of bump, but every once in awhile I'll see something crazy like a .007" bump. Could this be due to brass inconsistency? If so, am I running any risks (other than over working the brass) with loading these extremely bumped cases?

Additionally, when I measure the necks I'm not seeing any of them at .266", a lot of them are in the .268"-.269" range. Is this due to "spring back" that I read so often about, and is this expected? I guess in my newbness I think that after I resize these pieces that they should slide back through the die, proving that they've been sized correctly but that hasn't been my experience. I've sized about 50 pieces and don't want to go any further until I'm certain I'm doing this correctly.

Thanks for all of your help in advance.

Are you measuring your brass before and after sizing? I.E. IS it possible some of the cases coming out really short, went into the die really short too?