• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Flash Hole Deburring Question

Former0302

Private
Minuteman
Oct 15, 2008
Baltimore County
I'm new to reloading. I'm working on case prepping my first batch of once fired brass.

I have a Sinclair tool that indexes on the case head. I have a couple of questions though.

1) It seems to open up the flash hole quite a bit. Is this an issue for .223 cases (e.g. does it take too much brass off the case head for a small primer / .223 case head)? This tool is universal, correct?

2) If I chamfer both sides of the flash hole (following Doc's tutorial on this board), will this weaken the case head to a dangerous level. I'm just a bit nervous about removing too much brass (especially for small primer cases). Once it's gone, you can't bring it back.

3) Am I just being too cautious about this whole flash hole prep step?

Replies are very much appreciated.

Cheers.

Re: Flash Hole Deburring Question

i really would not get too wrapped around the axle on the flash-hole thingie.....just make certain there is a nice clear hole for the fire column to flash though.....

although there is much to learn from the Bench-rest crowd....one must have a life........and what ever you do.....DO NOT start weighing your primers......it is a sickness from which there is no escape.

Thanks Boltripper. I figure I can't be too cautious at first with things that go boom next to your face.

Good warning...I've acquired too much gun related sickness as it is.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: former0302</div><div class="ubbcode-body">