• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

FN Mauser Bolt - How to Disassemble? - no safety on bolt itself

Fupananvil

Private
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2021
Baden, Pennsylvania
I have a FN Mauser with a BXXX serial number on bolt and reciever. I am new to this gun. It is chambered 25-06 but has no brand markings other than FN. It looks to me like somebody sporterized it after WWII; crude stock. I think it is a commercial Mauser; correct me if I'm wrong. Its safety is a forward-back 2 position right side safety that stays on the action, not a part of the bolt. How do I disassemble the bolt to clean the firing pin, spring, and moving parts? I've done the Kroil and q-tip thing and prefer to deep clean with disassembly; prefer not to ultrasonic submerge it. I see normally one places the wing safety in the central position but this bolt has no such wing safety. The firing pin spring wants to drive the firing pin forward as soon as the black plunger is pushed and the rear assembly rotated - basically it goes into the not cocked position and wants to stay there. I alread made that mistake and got it back to the cocked position. I see a little groove in the back of the body connected to the firing pin and wonder if there is a little tool to hold the spring pressure while disassembling. Another thought I had was pull the firing pin all the way back and rotate it till it's captive on the shelf before rotating the rear assembly by pushing the plunger. I stopped because I don't want to make a mess of it. Pics attached and any help will be appreciated. The extractor came off and was reinstalled using the method I found on wing safety Mauser videos. The trigger and sear on the action were really gunked up so I removed them, disassembled, cleaned, lubed and reassemb