• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Fng from Minnesota looking for some local long ranges and a few pointers from you large caliber nutheads :)

Wingnuts

Private
Minuteman
Feb 8, 2022
Twin cities, Minnesota
Hey guys, I'm looking forward to all the information this forum has to offer and really excited to be a better shooter. I've been shooting paper with my savage 111 30-06 for 10 years or more using a shitty scope and factory ammo at no more than 200 to 300 yards and have had a hell of alot of fun getting those groupings that look like you missed the paper because you can't see your last shot on paper. I could get out to the range with my 22 and have just as much if not more fun than the larger calibers so don't worry I'm not that guy with something to prove to the world. However, I finally picked myself up my "dream caliber" about a week ago and want to set it up for proper long range. I'm also looking to know If anyone in minnesota or Wisconsin knows of any ranges 500+ where a guy can stretch his legs. The new rifle is a savage 110 precision 338lm. So far I've just got a magpul bipod installed on mlok that feels great for an inexpensive start in case there's better options. The glass I'm looking at is the vortex viper pst gen II 5x25x50. I love all my vortex glass but I've always been curious about nightforce too. Please give me your options on where I should or shouldn't take this build. I'm in no hurry to cheap out on this but I don't know that I'll spend over 2k for my first scope on this rig. Also looking for a great "loop" sling to put on this. Thanks gentlemen, not sure what to expect from this but any insight is appreciated!
20220207_190913.jpg

Welcome to the hide.

Fellow MN shooter here.