• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advanced Marksmanship FNG looking to de-noob self

dannyryan007

Private
Minuteman
May 16, 2011
Washington State, USA
Hello,
I am new to the sport of tactical/long range shooting. I have my rifle, my scope, my bipod, and ammo. What i don't have is all the know-how. I am the embodiment of FNG. Blast away. But, please offer advice, and potential resources. I want to learn about windage, elevation, temperatures, ballistics etc. I ultimately want to compete, but i am completely content with being a hobbiest. I am looking for resources i.e. books and manuals that will help me cover the basics, gain an understanding and advance from there with questions and more specifics. I appreciate your help in advance. I can use all of it I can get.
-Danny

Re: FNG looking to de-noob self

Sign up for the online training here would be a good start. I believe there are some precision shooting schools in WA as well.

Online training, try to find someone local that actually knows what they are talking about.

a few solid days of shooting steel at long range will help you learn alot about wind reading, spotting ect. Trade time off the gun and on the glass, you are going to want to do both.

Good luck
smile.gif

There is a wealth of knowledge on this forum.

Get an accurate .22 and shoot the ever loving shit out of it. A smallbore organization would be a good thing to get into.

Caylan is running MAgpuls precision rifle out near tri cities,
Where in Washington are you?