• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Fieldcraft FNG's Second Post

HugoStiglitz

Private
Minuteman
May 11, 2010
PHX AZ
Just finished reading that 7 page thread about bipod hop, bullet torque, etc... . I REALLY got alot from it, THANKS EVERYone that made that possible (especially tha guy who had that doll wiggling into her jeans, I had to scroll that up so I could concentrate). NOT at all experienced with long-range precision shooting Sooo, here goes. As a machinist I make little things that help make my life easier. I realize that consistency in every aspect once you grab that rifle is everything. Properly placing that rifle butt the same way each time is something that intrigues me. position affects it, clothing thickness (T-shirt,heavy jacket etc...) Why did the M-14 have that butt plate that swiviled up to rest on your shoulder?? Is that something I could incorporate to insure exact repeatability, or am I wasting my time. Seems like it would eliminate one more thing to think about under stress. Best Regards!! Joe

Re: FNG's Second Post

A target butt plate can be used to make the rifle fit into your shoulder better but:

1) If you adjust it to fit perfectly then it's only going to fit perfectly when you're shooting in the position it's adjusted for. This is fine if you're shooting a NRA match or F-class or something but not so useful at RO or ASC where you'll be in a different improvised position with every shot. It's like those grips with the little thumb shelfs and all the ergo swells. They're great until you need to shoot with the other hand.

2) They add weight to an already heavy rifle.