• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Focal Planes: is the FFP worth it for mil dot?

Jdpalm3

Private
Minuteman
Jan 12, 2009
Blacksburg
Ok, so I'm new to the mil dot, but I like it and i will be using it on my new 700. Im looking at scopes but cannot decide if the FFP is worth it. Many of the scopes I have found that are in my range are SFP. (i.e. Bushnell 4200 tac/Falcon Menace FFP) Its really between these 2 scopes. Im just wondering if I should limit myself to a FFP scope or not. If I go SFP, what adjustments will I have to make to use it effectively.

Re: Focal Planes: is the FFP worth it for mil dot?

Depends on what kind of shooting you will be doing.

For punching paper, where you'll dial your elevations and perhaps your windage, a second focal plane scope is fine.

If you're going to shoot tactical rifle competitions which involve moving targets under various conditions, and multiple target engagements at various distances with time limitations, so you won't have time to dial elevation changes between targets, a first focal plane scope is a distinct advantage.

You can use a FFP reticle for wind holds, moving target leads, holdovers and holdunders, at <span style="font-weight: bold">any</span> magnification you choose. With a SFP scope, you cannot - the reticle marks are accurate at only one magnification.

is there a way to correct for that with the SFP so that it will be accurate again at any magnification?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jim Palmer</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is there a way to correct for that with the SFP so that it will be accurate again at any magnification?</div></div>