• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Focus on crosshairs or Target?

10xk9

Private
Minuteman
Jan 9, 2009
West Virginia
My background is NRA bullseye pistol. I’m a High Master, Distinguished, multi time presidents hundred shooter, etc. So I understand the fundamentals of marksmanship.
As a pistol shooter , watching your sights and not your target is the only way! Now with red dot sights on a pistol there seems to be a difference of opinion as far as which is better, watching the dot, or watching the target.
My question is for the best rifle shooters in here who are using high magnifying glass.....do you focus on the crosshairs , or on the target as the trigger breaks?

Reactions: Bulletsmith
I wouldn't claim anything about being the best rifle shooter here, but the big difference is the parallax. In a scope, the crosshair and the target will appear to be on the same plane, where with iron sights that isn't possible. Theoretically, you should not be able to focus on the crosshairs and not the target, or vice versa. The red dot pistol issue is a little different.

Reactions: bjay and Milo 2.5
I wouldn't claim anything about being the best rifle shooter here, but the big difference is the parallax. In a scope, the crosshair and the target will appear to be on the same plane, where with iron sights that isn't possible. Theoretically, you should not be able to focus on the crosshairs and not the target, or vice versa. The red dot pistol issue is a little different.