• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Forster FL Sizing Die Factory Honing Question

Infinity

Always Professional
Minuteman
Apr 17, 2012
Atlanta, GA, USA
I just ordered a Forster benchrest FL sizer die for my .308 and am planning on sending it in to Forster for the custom neck-size honing service. That said, I'm new to reloading and am not sure what size to have them hone it for.

These reloads will be for an LAR-8 .308. I probably don't need to say this part but it is an FAL mag-fed AR-10 type rifle. I am planning on loading a FGMM clone load. I'll optimize a load for the rifle at a later date, I'm aware I'll be able to load better than FGMM.

After everything I've read, I'm planning on measuring a loaded FGMM load neck size and subtracting .003". That will be the size I tell Forster to hone the Neck size of the die for. Will this be adequate neck tension? Is this a good plan?

Re: Forster FL Sizing Die Factory Honing Question

That is good unless you neck turn afterward or you change brands of cases. Be aware that Forster can only hone down to a certain amount...they will tell you that dimension.

I had them do the same thing with a 7-08 FL sizing die. I had my reamer specs so I sent them to Forster so they could look them over. I talked to them on the phone and they suggested a dimension and I went with it. You can feel the difference when you re-size a case. The honed die takes much less effort. I'm very happy with mine.