• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Forster FLS & Ultra Micrometer Seater Dies

shotdown

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 14, 2011
Tampa, FL
www.instagram.com
What can you guys tell me about the "Forster Full Length Sizing & Ultra™ Micrometer Seater Dies" (#U04502)? Are they really good dies? I'll be reloading 175gr SMKs for my .308 SPS Tactical. Also, yes I'm a newb to reloading.

This die set

Re: Forster FLS & Ultra Micrometer Seater Dies

Those are the dies I use, and they are great. In my opinion, add their (Forster) bushing/bump die with 3 bushings, and you're set. You could spend more and get Redding, but will be no better off.

Some folks prefer FLS bushing dies, but I prefer to remove the expander ball, and finish-size the neck ID with a Sinclair expander mandrel. Some non-bushing FLS dies size the neck WAY small, but not the Forster.

Great set for $90.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turbo54</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Those are the dies I use, and they are great. <span style="font-weight: bold"> In my opinion, add their (Forster) bushing/bump die with 3 bushings, and you're set</span>. You could spend more and get Redding, but will be no better off.

Some folks prefer FLS bushing dies, but I prefer to remove the expander ball, and finish-size the neck ID with a Sinclair expander mandrel. Some non-bushing FLS dies size the neck WAY small, but not the Forster.

Great set for $90. </div></div>
Do you have a link to these? Not sure what I'm looking for. Thanks for your response.

I would not spend the money on the bushing setup until you are sure you need it.
If you do need it you are (IMHO) better off with a custom ground sizer and no expander ball.