• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Forster - shoulder bump not enough

JL6.5

PrrrressssBANG
Minuteman
  • Sep 13, 2020
    SoCal Desert
    Just about to reload my first batch of once fired brass (Hornady Match). Since it is my first time, I am being extremely methodical and precise. My fired cases measure 1.5330” using a Forster datum dial. When I setup my Forster FL sizing die on my Forster Co-Ax press, it will only size down to 1.5315” (1.5 thousandths) before the die is bottoming out on the shell holder and the cam over is very hard/nearly impossible. At this point the die is bottomed out and cannot size any further.

Seems like shaving a.001-.002 off the bottom of the die would be the logical answer (that or sending the die and a fired case to Forster and let them figure it out).

However I’d like to employ the opinions of others who are more experienced on this issue than I and hopefully correct this seemingly easy issue myself.

Educated/sound advice would be greatly appreciated. Thx guys.

Last edited:
    I use the Redding Competition Shellholder Set and make the bump adjustments with the shellholder, not the die ram depth. Had the same issue trying to do this with the die vs. the shellholder. That's my advice.

Reactions: Holliday
    Two choices : Remove material from bottom of die , or remove material from top of shell holder.

Reactions: JL6.5
    Should have mentioned that I’m using a Forster Co-Ax press. No shell holder.

So,…..what’s the best way to shave a die without access to a lathe? File, sand, polish?

Last edited: