• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk Full size or compact can for PRS?

Nostradumbass

Falconer
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Sep 7, 2009
    NE Texas
    Hey boys,

I’ve been shooting PRS for about 2 years now. So far, I’ve always ran a full size direct thread suppressor on 6.5 caliber rifles.

So I’ve got a Surefire 762mini that I don’t use much on gas guns, and I like the minimal length it adds to a full length bolt gun. The level of sound suppression isn’t as good as a full size can, but with ear protection, it’s not bad. The other advantage over my direct thread is that my thread on can always seems to work loose between stages.

Just wanted to get the thoughts of the guys running cans in comps. Is there a major disadvantage with running a compact can vs full size at matches?

Thanks!

Reactions: Xferbuckeye
    I ran the Thunder Beast Ultra 9 for 2 years, and now I am on my second year of running the Ultra 7. With the Ultra 9 I ran a 24" barrel to keep my overall length more manageable. While running the Ultra 7 I run a 26", so roughly the same overall length. Both can use the Thunder Beast brake for mounting, I haven't had it come loose since my first year running them, but I also double check before each stage just to make sure.

How is the muzzle rise between the two, is there a noticeable difference? if there is no noticeable difference in muzzle rise I would run the shorter can just to save some length when entering/exiting a prop.

Reactions: Nostradumbass