• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

GAP Build - Tough Choices - Bartlein #GAP 5 Sendero Contour vs Proof Research CF Sendero

grizzlestomp

Private
Minuteman
Oct 25, 2017
Los Angeles, CA
Finalizing the details of my new build and trying to choose between barrels. This will be a hunting rig, but I want a heavier contour barrel so that I can shoot at the range and improve my skill level. Not trying to make benchrest gun or hybrid, just trying to make a hunting rig that I can practice with and shoot more than one round every five minutes (like with a featherweight barrel). I'm relatively new/intermediate. Good shot and some fundamentals but this is my first custom rig and I have limited experience shooting beyond 600 yards. Ideally, I would like to build a rig that could reach out to 800+yards at the range and 600+ yards for hunting, and as accurate as possible.

Specs:

6.5 GAP 4S
Templar V2 SA with integral 20 MOA rail and recoil lug
Manners EH-1 100% CF Stock (30oz)
Timney 510 2# Trigger
APA SA DBM Floor Metal
March 2.5-25x42 (or 52) Scope with MTR-3 illuminated reticle
APA Little Bastard Brake (Gen 1 - fitted)

Trying to choose between the following barrels (both would be at 1:8 twist):

Bartlein GAP #6 contour-fluted (basically a Bartlein #13 Sendero with an extra inch at the 1.250 base) (weighs approximately 5lbs) (not sure if I want to go 24" or 26")
Proof Research Sendero (26") (weighs 3.3lbs)

GAP will guaranty 3/8 MOA accuracy with the Bartlein but not the Proof. I like the reduced weight of the proof for a hunting rig. Figure the little bastard brake will make the recoil manageable and the reduced weight at the front end seems like it would make any offhand shot a lot easier to make.