• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gas port adjustment?

TACTICAL45

Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Nov 17, 2007
    Where ever they send me...
    I am new to the gassers, I bought a used one from a member here on the Hide. I will be testing it out with my hand loads (for my bolt gun I sold here as well) and some FGGM 168's. The rifle is a 16" Ranier Arms Ultra Match, the gas block is a Seekins. My load is as follows, 175 SMK's, 43 gr, Lapua brass, CCI BR primers. I have been doing much reading about what members are shooting though this type of bbl. most seem to be using 168's. I will shoot both to see what it likes best as the gas block is adjusted now. Is there a short cut to tuning the gas block, or is it just shoot, adjust a little each way and see where they hit with each load and the rifle cycles? Is there a starting point on adjustment for the screw? I've never owned a adjustable gas block as you can tell. Thanks.

I AM NOT AN EXPERT

Now that that's out of the way, there is an ejection pattern chart to be found on the net that will give you an idea which way to adjust according to the angle of ejection. For instance, ejection to 3 0r 4 o'clock is considered ideal. Hotter loads or overgassing will eject more forward to like 1 or 2 o'clock, and weaker loads or undergassing will tend more towards 5 o'clock. Search for "ar15 ejection chart" or similar.Works the same for the larger ARs as well. I hope I understood your question.

Close your gas flow off completely.

Load 1 round in the mag,
    Fire,
    Open gas adjustment screw 1/4 turn
    Load 1 round in the mag,
    fire

Do this until the bolt locks back on the empty mag. Then, open it 1/4-1/2 a turn extra for when the rifle gets dirty or dry. Do this with factory ammo.