• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors General suppressor questions

Stinger78

Private
Minuteman
Mar 2, 2012
Hey guys Ive been exploring the idea of applying for a suppressor. This would be my first time doing so and am a total newb to suppressors. I have been eyeing the AAC Cyclone and the TBAC30-p1. So i have a few new guy questions:

This would be going on a semi auto, not a bolt gun. Are certain silencers better for a bolt gun vs semi, ie aluminum built, titanium, etc? My main criteria i guess would be to have the least amount of POI shift. I can make bad shots on my own i dont need any help.

If I make the purchase online, does the dealer usually require you to pay for the suppressor then or do you wait for the paperwork to be returned?

With an online purchase, does my local FFL have to be a class 3 dealer to make the transfer or does that only apply to the selling dealer?

Sorry for the dumb questions but like i said, i am a total newb to these

Re: General suppressor questions

titanium will typically have the least POI shift but it doesnt do so well with heat. stainless is heavy but doesnt really flinch at heat. inconel is lighter and even more heat resistant than stainless but costs a lot. some companies use it on the first baffle and make the rest stainless.

for a semi i would go with a stainless/inconel can. you can go Ti but remember mag dumps are a no-no and allow it time to cool when it gets hot.