• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

getting started in rimfire

Coyotejunki

Private
Minuteman
Nov 18, 2004
St. Louis, MO
I have been shooting centerfires for many years, but now I am getting into rimfires. I just bought a Bergara B14R, and a Athlon scope. I luckily have some ammo. Usually with a centerfire, I will bed the action, freefloat the barrel, clean the bore then work up a load. Do I need to do anything to the Bergara? I think I will jst use the factory trigger for now, after lightening it up perhaps. Do I need to clean the barrel, break in. Give me some pointers. I have heard some say shoot it until accuracy drops then clean it.

What do you guys say?

Just getting one myself and wondered the same thing. Do you need to break in the barrel for best accuracy? If yes, what method?

I'm pretty firmly in the camp of this (I own...probably 20 .22s, and this applies to most of them).

1. I clean them when function or accuracy degrades. It's almost always function before accurary with my autoloaders (a couple Buckmarks need to be cleaned well every few hundred rounds. Really well). I WILL do obvious things like gently scraping crud out of the bolt face/etc as I notice it. I'm not a monster.
2. A boresnake will do 95% of what you need as far as barrel maintenance goes. I've put many thousands of rounds through my .22s and have yet to see where this isn't true.