• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Getting started reloading

mmcmah

Minuteman
Sep 23, 2013
Denver, Colorado
Hi everyone,

i am am a complete newbie to reloading. I've read the stickies and other articles in other web sites to get oriented. If anyone would care to suggest a very good starting kit (buy once, cry once), feel free, but there is no need if you don't want to.

I'm going to be reloading for rifles only. I plan to reload about 2,000 rounds a year. Main motivation is the new AI AX338 that I just got. That Lapua factory ammo sure is expensive! That will likely be my main use, but I'm also looking to reload for my P308.

For now, I'm interested in handloading for precision (long distance for 338 and general fun of tinkering with 308). I'm looking at a starter kit which I can upgrade as necessary with a digital FX-120i scale due to it's speed and accuracy (at least if I can still get one at $400, seems like they're backordered).

Aside from giving you a general sense of my intentions, I also had a few specific questions:
1. Can I use Retumbo for 308s? If I can, I presume I'll have to dial down the grains?
2. Can I use CCI #250 primers on 308? Same as above, if so?
3. Can I reuse the Hornady and Federal factory ammo brass that I currently have to reload for my 308?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Michael

Michael,