• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Going to 26 inch barrel from 24, slower powder?

Jake the dog

Private
Minuteman
May 9, 2017
Savannah, GA
I'm currently using H4350 in a 24 inch 6.5CM. I'm getting a new barrel next week, and am wondering if I should be looking at a slightly slower powder to get the most out of the longer barrel. It doesn't seem like a lot of difference, but it's new to me, and I know there is a great deal of experience on here.

I've been shooting a 260 at 28" since about 2003, and I'm still using H-4350 with 140-143gr bullets. I tested H-4831 way back in a 24" barrel and found better accuracy but less velocity.

These days, velocity is less crucial due to a higher shooting altitude(4350-ish) and the 28" barrel, and I may return to testing with H-4831SC. There are still a number of projects in the queue so this may get done in 2020, may not. Main goal will be getting accuracy out of the 143gr ELD-X.

My key strategy to using the longer barrel was not so much to get greater velocity, but to maintain the same/similar velocity with less heat/pressure, perhaps prolonging throat life.

Considering that the barrel is 15-16y/o and still going pretty danged strong, that may be working. It may also be due to less LR shooting on my part, estimating 1600-1800rd downrange.

Greg

I'm currently using H4350 in a 24 inch 6.5CM. I'm getting a new barrel next week, and am wondering if I should be looking at a slightly slower powder to get the most out of the longer barrel. It doesn't seem like a lot of difference, but it's new to me, and I know there is a great deal of experience on here.