• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

going to build an ar-10 and I've never built an ar10/15 before

long range newbie

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 7, 2013
Oregon
So I have never shot or built an ar. I am getting an ar-10 lower from a friend and I am wondering what caliber, parts to use,( I will have a friend make a barrel for me) and maybe some tips on what to do and not to do.

308 for availability of parts and ammo. Did you get an actual armalite lower? or were you just saying ar-10? If you meant armalite then you have to get their bcg and barrel extension.. look for a matching upper

Dont mix and match parts it will lead to headaches. tryy to get as much as you can from one manufacturer.

first step might be find a friend that has one and shoot it and see if you even like it. Then look to see what you like/dotn like about the features of the gun. then look around at other peoples and compare and really find out what it is that you want from the gun and what parts will get you there. You shouldnt just build a gun because people on the internet said its good. Go find out what you like.

Research, research, research. Some of this stuff isn't the straightest scoop, so use your head picking and choosing among the multitude.

BTW, unless you have a better reason than ammo availability, reconsider .223/5.56, ammo is starting to come back.

Greg

You need to do a LOT of research/homework before you get much further into this mess as it can be daunting even if you know exactly what you want.