• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Good Carry Piece?

Averagejoe

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 27, 2008
Behind You!!!
I have been carrying a full size Kimber Custom II 1911 for about 3 years and am just tired of a heavy carry piece. I have HUGE hands so a Small Compact is out of the Question. I am 6'3" 260 and can carry pretty much anything comfortably. My question is What would you carry. I have always been against Glocks because they are composite and I know a few people that have Cracked Trigger Guards and such but would consider one. Please give me some suggestions. I really like 45's but am willing to deviate from this if the gun is Right.

Re: Good Carry Piece?

Joe,
I would like to see one of those "cracked" trigger guards, not calling you a liar but I don't believe it, been around hundreds of Glocks since 1991 and have NEVER, repeat NEVER seen a frame or any part of the "composite" crack. Anyway, I too have very large hands and will tell you my favorite carry piece is a Glock 27 with Pearce Grip Extenders on the mags. Wear it on DeSantis Apache Ankle Holster when concealed or a Fobus G26 holster on a belt. My next purchase will be a Glock 23, which will also work, with the right pants in the Apache Holster, not the most comfortable but it will work. 14 rounds of 155 grain Gold Dots is plenty for anything I need to get out of.

Huge hands?...try a SIG 220. less footprint and 15 ounces lighter tahn a steel frame 1911, .45 and a loooong trigger arc for your HUGE hands.

Glocks are tough, never had one of or witnessed one break in over 20 years using factory ammo.

The Glock 21 feels like a twoxfour to me, but if you have HUGE hands, give it a try.

Or maybe a smith and wesson .500 with a 3 inch barrel?