• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

greasing the bolt?

Dantrom

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 30, 2009
northwest ohio
Hi everyone, I'm a new member here but have been refering to these forums for all of your input on related topics for a while now. I have been shooting for several years and have recently bought a remington sps tactical 308 and was told without instuction that I should be greasing the bolt on my bolt action rifles. I have always kept the bolts oiled upon cleaning but have never used any type grease.

Does anyone have any input on this matter and if so instructions of what would be the proper way to go about doing this?

Re: greasing the bolt?

No grease here, only bolts I have ever greased were on my Garands and M1A's. Light coat of oil/lube is all I ever use on my bolt rifles.

FYI, the contact points are the rear faces of the bolt lugs. The camming face is usually located on the top of the front face of the receiver groove that the bolt handle travels in during its vertical movement. Typical automotive white grease will work fine, as will any grade of gun grease.

The grease is used as an insurance policy, as a hot load can gaul the bolt lugs, injuring the smooth finish, making bolt lug contact and bolt maniplation problematic.

Grease will also attract grit, so cleaning the bolt lugs and locking recesses in the receiver is a good thing to do periodically. I clean this stuff and reapply fresh grease each time I shoot and clean my rifles. Just a wee wipe on the rear faces of the bolt lugs is enough.

Greg