• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Gunsmith school?

MTS308

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Mar 7, 2018
Lake butler fl
I have a question for you guys. Is it really worth going to college for 2 years to get a AAS in gunsmithing?
I'm a cnc machinist and have been seriously thinking about going to college and looking for a job in a custom shop upon graduation. Or should I consider trying to find a established reputable gunsmith that would take me on now and apprentice under him.
I've been looking into schools ( Montgomery in NC Yavapai in AZ....etc) and for what it cost in tuition alone I can buy a lathe, Bridgeport style mill and most other required tooling and teach myself.
Just seeing what the opinions here are. Thanks

Hi,

I personally would hire a person with cnc experience (especially one with programming experience) over a "degree'd" gunsmith.

Edited To Add:
Maybe call Kentucky Gun Co in Bardstown and see if they will let you volunteer in their gunsmith department on your days off.

Sincerely,
Theis

From the guys I've talked to who've gone through Trinidad (and granted they went through near 10 years ago) I'd say most of what is taught is on par for like 1980. A lot of old school knowledge-- not necessarily bad info because gunsmithing by and large does not require fancy machines or exotic methods, but even so it's on the stale side. I have heard that there are some efforts to modernize the material a bit, though.

What's your end goal? Want to run your own shop or just enjoy working on guns?